ASCII Photo Booth

It’s been a little while since the last blog entry, but it’s given a little time to considering the next experiments in Pi cookery.

Image conversion with jp2a - click for larger if you dare!

Webcam capture converted with jp2a

I’ve been giving some thoughts for what I could bring to the next Exeter Raspberry Jam (7th June 2014 – 10am). One thing that might be popular is to combine a few tools, a webcam and a printer and create an ASCII photo booth. It would make an interesting flip-side to the high-end megapixel cameras and could also possibly be thought of as art.

So how to do it?

Experiments so far:

I’ve had success with the tool “motion” taking regular images from a USB webcam and saving them to SD cards. I’ve had success with making these visible as JPEGs (Even using Motion’s built-in webserver). I thought I would try some other commands to take just one image from the webcam and process that on demand. What a disaster!

I’ve tried “uvccapture” and also “fswebcam” –  both of which seem to give me a headache. One reports an ioctl error and the other produces images that are too dark. I’ve tried a couple hours of fiddling and didn’t see an improvement.

  • Currently, what seems to work is to capture images every 2 seconds using motion. I don’t need it to do much else, although the webserver might be handy for viewing full colour previews in future.
  • I can then use “jp2a” to show an ASCII version of the jpeg image
  • I can use “jp2a –background=light” to create a file that would use black characters on a white background.
  • I can use “cups” and the “lpr” command to send the image to a printer.
  • I’ll connect a big fruit-machine type button on a GPIO input for triggering the shutter and printing.
  • I’ll join it all together with Python, perhaps using “figlet” to generate on-screen instructions.

Other interesting things I’ve discovered: We have a Windows 7 laptop with the printer connected – and shared. For some reason, it seemed more straightforward to connect the Raspberry Pi to the shared printer using CUPS over the network than it was to connect a Vista laptop. I don’t know why this might be – perhaps I’m too short-sighted technically here – but surely the same family of operating systems should be easier? Ho hum…

I’ll post the results of my experiments here later, but that’s another story yet to come!

One response to “ASCII Photo Booth

Leave a Reply

