Clearing space on the SD card

All of a sudden the startx command resulted in a crash. I had updated and upgraded and wondered if that was the problem… Or was the card corrupted?

One train of thought was – Is the card full?

I typed:

df -h

and there it was: 100% full!

I didn’t want to remove any of my files so somewhere in the back of my mind I remembered that apt-get keeps a cache of all of the downloaded packages. How to clean up? A quick search revealed all I needed was:

sudo apt-get clean

A blink of an eye later and my SD card was reporting 84% full with a saving of 560Mb. Just what I needed and startx performs normally again. Excellent news!

Leave a Reply

