Remote monitoring with a Raspberry Pi camera

RPi Camera and Light Source

Raspberry Pi, NOIR camera and home-hacked Infra-red light source.

I’ve used USB cameras with the Raspberry Pi in the past for capturing events – either in response to movement or as a timelapse. I also recently acquired a PI-NOIR camera which works really well with an infrared light source as a baby cam. I’ve installed tinyCAM on my Android phone so that I can use the camera as a baby monitor, but recently I came across “Raspicam” for Android. Looks interesting as it allows control of more functions.

Should be worth a try. I bought an infrared light source from that well-known auction site and it provides a powerful beam of invisible illumination which lights the whole room, especially if it’s bounced off the ceiling. It’s powered by a 12v wall-wart. I’ve encased it in a modified camping light case so that the PCB is a bit more robust. Plenty of hot glue holds the thing together nicely.

The Raspicam App is available on the Google Play store and is demonstrated on Mike Redrobe’s Youtube video.

Leave a Reply

